Home Privacy About us E-Mail

Travel Info

Quick Facts
Governmentrepublic under multiparty democratic rule
CurrencyCommunaute Financiere Africaine franc (XOF); note - responsible authority is the Central Bank of the West African States
Areatotal: 196,190 sq km
land: 192,000 sq km
water: 4,190 sq km
Population10,589,571 (July 2002 est.)
LanguageFrench (official), Wolof, Pulaar, Jola, Mandinka
ReligionMuslim 94%, indigenous beliefs 1%, Christian 5% (mostly Roman Catholic)

Senegal is a country in Western Africa. It is the westernmost country on the African continent. With a North Atlantic Ocean coastline in the west, Senegal has Guinea-Bissau to the south, Guinea to the southeast, Mali to the east, and Mauritania to the north. The Gambia is almost an enclave of Senegal in the middle of the western coast.

The Dakar

  • Diourbel
  • Fatick
  • Kaolack
  • Kolda
  • Louga
  • Saint-Louis
  • Dakar: Capital city
  • Saint-Louis:
  • Thi�s:
  • Kaolack:
  • Ziguinchor: