Home Privacy About us E-Mail

Travel Informationen


Oceania is a vast, arbitrarily defined expanse of the world where the Pacific Ocean – rather than land borders – connects the nations. It's home to glistening white beaches, coconut palms swaying in the breeze, beautiful coral reefs, and rugged volcanic islands rising out of the blue ocean. See it before global warming and rising sea levels submerge the atolls.

(It should not be confused in any way with the fictional empire of the same name in George Orwell's novel 1984.)


Note: Although these regions include the majority of islands in Oceania, some islands are not included in any of them.


* not universally considered part of Oceania

Other destinations

  • American Samoa (United States)
  • Easter Island (Chile)
  • French Polynesia (France)
  • Guam (United States)
  • Hawaii (United States)
  • Lord Howe Island (Australia)
  • Midway Islands (United States)
  • New Caledonia (France)
  • Norfolk Island (Australia)
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Tokelau (New Zealand)
  • Wallis and Futuna (France)
  • West Papua (Indonesia)

This page was last modified 02:12, 11 May 2006 by Todd VerBeek. Based on work by Yann Forget and Evan Prodromou, Wikitravel user(s) Episteme, Yzerfontein, WindHorse, InterLangBot, Jpatokal, Nils, Huttite, Nurg and Dhum Dhum and Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel.